your database front-end

Mass Update

By default dbFront lets you work with a single record at a time but sometimes there is the need to update or delete a large selection of records.

dbFront provides a Mass Update tool that allows users to select a large number of records and then safely apply a single update to them all.

Mass Update Wizard Start

Record Selection

Records are selected by using the Advanced Search functionality.   Additionally, when Mass Update is opened on a child record then only the child records of the current parent record are selected.

The record selections must be made prior to starting the Mass Update Wizard.

Record Deletion

On the first page of the Mass Update Wizard you can choose to either Delete or Update the selected records.

Mass Delete Confirm

Selecting Delete will bring up a confirmation page where you need to type in the word "delete" followed by a space and the number of records that will be deleted.   For example when deleting 12 records you would type "delete 12".  This confirmation ensures that there is no possibility of accidentally deleting more records then expected.

Once confirmed, dbFront will then run the Delete operation and commit it to the database.  If there is any error or if the record counts don't match then the delete operation will be cancelled and no records will be deleted.

Record Updates

On the first page of the Mass Update Wizard you can choose to either Delete or Update the selected records.

Mass Update Edit

Selecting Update  will bring up a page allowing you to specify which fields you want to update and how.  It is possible to specify multiple field updates at the same time.

The last page of the Update Wizard is a confirmation page where you need to type in the word "edit" followed by a space and the number of records that will be updated.   For example when updating 7 records you would type "edit 7".  This confirmation ensures that there is no possibility of accidentally changing more records then expected.

Mass Update Confirm

Once confirmed, dbFront will then run the Update operation and commit it to the database.  If there is any error or if the record counts don't match then the update operation will be cancelled and no records will be changed.

Enabling Mass Update

By default Mass Update is only enabled for Administrative users.  Mass Update can be enabled for all users on the first tab of the table preferences.

Content you want the user to see goes here.
close